On drums...

For drummers to exchange knowledge, ideas, opinions & equipment...
It is currently Wed Jul 03, 2024 1:46 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Are you a jazz drummer?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:33 am 

I thought it would be appropriate to bring this discussion that germinated in David’s video clip string into a topic of its own, as it is worth exploring.

Most of the responses I have read so far to the implied question of, “Are you a jazz drummer?”, seem to really be responses to the question, "Are you as good a jazz drummer as you would like to be?”

Speaking for myself, and answering this as a sequence of questions, the answers are, “Yes”, and, “No”.

I would not define what I am by whether I make my living from it any more than I would attach a monetary criteria to defining a ‘professional’ of any kind. Both are about how one approaches a subject, and not their level of compensation from it.

I would not base my answer on whether I fully understood the idiom either, any more than I would qualify a scientist by whether or not he knew all there was to know in his field of pursuit. Quite the opposite, it is (i) the pursuit and (ii) the unknown that define a scientist, and I believe, a jazz drummer as well.

It seems that only if we see it as some sort of exclusive club, with some nebulous yet strict definition of membership criteria do we force ourselves to answer which side of the line are we on. I think the question instead is, are we are on that journey?

So, am I a jazz drummer? Yes, I am on that journey. Do I meet enough other criteria for someone else to agree? Don’t know, don’t care.

Once before we began this discussion, and it went off the rails. Things have changed since then. One negative influence is gone, and some guys might answer the question differently today than they would have answered it a year ago.